Lovemore with crutches

Mes 3 meilleurs facilitateurs

Dispositifs d'aide et assistance personnelle

En tant que personne physiquement handicapée, le fait d'avoir accès à des béquilles presque tout le temps m'a permis de me débrouiller de manière indépendante plutôt bien, mais les difficultés persistent néanmoins quand je suis face à des marches ou des escaliers très raides. Dans ces cas, il devient alors très difficile pour les personnes handicapées de se déplacer. Le fait de disposer d'appareils d'assistance apporte un avantage évident. Malheureusement, ils ne sont pas facilement accessibles au Zimbabwe et doivent être importés, les rendant ainsi plus chers et tout aussi inaccessibles pour les personnes handicapées.

Attitudes

Bien que les attitudes négatives constituent un véritable obstacle à l'intégration des personnes handicapées, l'attitude de la société à l'égard du handicap s'est quelque peu améliorée au fil des ans. La plupart des gens reconnaissent que la diversité est un élément essentiel de la société et la plupart des prestataires de services essaieront de donner priorité aux personnes handicapées afin de rendre leurs services aussi accessibles que possible.

Moyens de communication accessibles

J'essaie d'exploiter au mieux les médias sociaux et leur capacité d'intégration. Les médias sociaux ont un impact considérable sur la promotion de l'intégration des personnes handicapées dans les processus sociaux, économiques, politiques et culturels. J'ai largement eu recours aux médias en ligne pour transmettre des informations aux personnes handicapées. J'ai écrit des articles détaillés qui abordent des questions transversales sur le handicap et qui ont permis aux personnes handicapées de défendre leurs droits. Il s'agit notamment des articles suivants : https://zimbabwe-today.com/social-media-disability-exclusion/ ; https://zimbabwe-today.com/guidelines-on-disability-inclusion-an-emerging-trend/ ; https://www.herald.co.zw/new-concept-of-leadership-revolutionising-disability-inclusion/ ; https://www.herald.co.zw/cyclone-idai-lessons-learnt-for-disability/ ; https://www.herald.co.zw/domestication-of-disability-convention-long-overdue/ https://www.herald.co.zw/hidden-dimensions-of-violence-against-people-with-disabilities/ ; https://www.herald.co.zw/of-marriage-bill-disability/.

Mon voyage

-
Garantir l'intégration des personnes handicapées dans les processus électoraux

Discussions connexes

Explorez plus de nos histoires

социальный центр равные возможности
Malika Sh.
24, Secteur privé
KG
read more
The notion of SOCSO Social Security Protection is based on the concept of joint responsibility through the pooling of resources, sharing of risk and replacement of income. Social security protection is a basic need that must be fulfilled as agreed upon in the International Labour Organisation (ILO) Convention 1952, namely, Convention 102: Minimum Standards for Social Security.
SOCIAL SECURITY ORGANISATION MALAYSIA
50, Secteur privé
MY
read more
Asel Isakhunova 2020
Asel Isakhunova
31, Secteur privé
KG
read more
mustapha sitting.
YUSUF MUSTAPHA
27, Secteur privé
NG
read more

Lovemore with crutches

My top 3 facilitators

Assistive devices and personal assistance

Being someone who is physically impaired, having access to crutches almost all of the time has enabled me to operate at a rather acceptable level but the only problem comes when environments have verty steep steps or staircases which make it very difficult to be navigated by persons with physical impairments. Having assistive devices gives persons with disabilities an edge over those who have not but in Zimbabwe they are not readily available and have to be imported and this makes their prices steep for persons with disabilities.

Attitudes

Although negative attitudes constitute a veritable barrier to disability inclusion, society's attitudes to disability have somewhat mellowed over the years and most people recognise diversity as an essential element in society and most service providers will try to give you priority in order to make their services as accessible to persons with disabilities as possible.

Accessible communication

I have made the most of social media and its social media inclusion capability. Social media having the greatest impact in promoting the inclusion of persons with disabilities (PWDs) in social, economic, political and cultural processes, I have made extensive use of online media to get information to PWDs. I have written trenchant crosscutting articles on disability which have empowered persons with disabilities to stand up for their rights. These include: https://zimbabwe-today.com/social-media-disability-exclusion/ ; https://zimbabwe-today.com/guidelines-on-disability-inclusion-an-emerging-trend/; https://www.herald.co.zw/new-concept-of-leadership-revolutionising-disability-inclusion/ ; https://www.herald.co.zw/cyclone-idai-lessons-learnt-for-disability/; https://www.herald.co.zw/domestication-of-disability-convention-long-overdue/ https://www.herald.co.zw/hidden-dimensions-of-violence-against-people-with-disabilities/; https://www.herald.co.zw/of-marriage-bill-disability/.

My Journey

-
Ensured inclusion of persons with disabilities in electoral processes oral processes aioxluaio

Related Discussions

Explore more of our stories

Sandeep Agarwal
Sandeep Agarwal
51, Private sector
IN
read more
A black and white picture of myself looking into the camera and smiling, while I hug my son Alan, who's lying his head on one of my arms and looking to the side.
KATIA D'ARTIGUES BEAUREGARD
49, Research/University
MX
read more
Mauro Fassi  in Santa Fe training center
Mauro Andrés Fassi
25, Research/University
AR
read more
Natali Olaya
Natali Olaya
36, Research/University
CO
read more